Can You Turn Off Mutual Friends on Snapchat?

The Snapchat Quick Add feature, also known as mutual friends, has caused quite a stir in the social media world. High school, middle school and college students are trying to figure out how to turn this off because they do not want their friends to know about mutual friends they may have. This is causing all kinds of drama when it comes to crushes, ex boyfriends and ex girlfriends. Unfortunately, there is no way to turn off this mutual friends feature but you can make certain you are not a part of it.

At this point, you are always going to see the Add Friends blue button which takes you to Quick Add. If you want to make certain you are not in anyone else’s mutual friends you can turn it off by clicking on the gear settings tab. You can scroll down to the Who Can… option. You can then click the See Me in Quick Add. You can then slide the button to the left making certain you will not show up as a mutual best friend for one of your friends.

Before the drama hits a fever pitch it might be a good idea to turn the Quick Add off for your account. While you will still see other suggestions for you to follow on Snapchat you will know that other people won’t see your name.

It is interesting to see the backlash from this move by Snapchat. Snapchat is working hard to expand the “discovery” within the app but this does not look like the proper way to do it. In fact, more people have asked how to turn if off than how to find more people.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *