When you add a new friend or account on Snapchat, most will notice a dark grey chat box. What does this mean? Does this mean that person has accepted you as a friend? Does this mean that if you try to chat with them they will receive the chat? Does it mean you have the opportunity to send them pictures and they will get it?
We have tested this out and what we have concluded is the dark grey box shows up when a user allows anyone to view their story but does not allow anyone to privately text them. If you try to privately send a Snapchat picture, text or video to a user that has a dark grey open box you will find that is shows a dark grey arrow meaning they will have to change their settings to see your message.
In essence, you can watch their story, but you cannot privately message them.